The MFWire
Manage Email Alerts | Sponsorships | About MFWire | Who We Are

Subscribe to MFWire.com's News Alerts [click]

Rating:Barr Rises As Three Join IDC's Board Not Rated 0.0 Email Routing List Email & Route  Print Print
Tuesday, November 3, 2020

Barr Rises As Three Join IDC's Board

Reported by Neil Anderson, Managing Editor

There's a new chair at a mutual fund industry trade group, and a trio of new faces have also joined its board.

Kathleen T. Barr
Independent Directors Council
Chair of the Governing Council
Last week Thomas Kim, managing director of the Independent Directors Council (IDC), confirmed that IDC's governing council has elected its vice chair, Kathie Barr, as chair. Barr succeeds Dawn Vroegop, who now serves as chair emeritus after two years as chair.

The council also recently elected three new additions to its ranks: Michael Forrester of the TIAA-CREF Funds; Kym Hubbard of the Pimco Funds; and Patricia Louie of the Oakmark Funds. The council now includes 28 members, nine of whom are also on the board of governors of IDC's parent, the ICI.

Kim lauds Vroegop for her starring IDC "through an extraordinary time of transition." (Vroegop mentions that, thanks to the COVID-19 crisis this year, the IDC team altered how they "deliver resources to directors.") And Kim puts Barr's election in the context of IDC's "renewed mission of educating, engaging with, advocating on behalf of, and promoting public understanding of independent directors and they value they provide to shareholders."

Barr, an independent trustee for the Professionally Managed Portfolios Series Trust and the William Blair mutual fund board, previously worked with PNC Funds, Allegiant Funds, and Fifth Third. She is an alumna of the University of Pittsburgh.

Vroegop, board chair and independent director for the Brighthouse Funds, is also on the board of Causeway Capital Management. She previously served as lead independent director for the MetLife Funds, and is an alumna of the Wharton School and of the University of Michigan. 

Stay ahead of the news ... Sign up for our email alerts now

 Do You Recommend This Story?

Return to Top
 News Archives
2024: Q2Q1
2023: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2022: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2021: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2020: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2019: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2018: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2017: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2016: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2015: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2014: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2013: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2012: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2011: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2010: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2009: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2008: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2007: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2006: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2005: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2004: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2003: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2002: Q4Q3Q2Q1
 Subscribe via RSS:
Add to My Yahoo!
follow us in feedly

©All rights reserved to InvestmentWires, Inc. 1997-2024
14 Wall Street | 20th Floor | New York, NY 10005 | P: 212-331-8968 | F: 212-331-8998
Privacy Policy :: Terms of Use